by guest writer Walt

[editor’s note: Walt’s been gone for the past two months. (Boo!) But he’ll be back next week. (Yay!) I like hanging out with him because he’s one of the funniest people I know, and he also never ceases to surprise me. Here, in his words, is a description of a wonderful gift he made last fall…]

I decided to make a craft project for Wiley’s birthday. She likes books, especially decorative ones, and she usually keeps her clock in the bathroom because it is loud enough to keep her awake at night. So I thought a book clock would be a good gift. The first attempt ended in failure. I found some instructions online that suggested using parts from a simple wall clock that you can buy at Target or Wal-Mart. The result, in my case, was a cheap and broken clock.

It turns out that you can buy clock kits at a craft store. These contain the electrical and mechanical bit, a shaft for the hands, the hands themselves, and some clock-face numbers. You can attach them to ANYTHING, and then that thing will be a clock. It’s like magic. Piece of driftwood? No problem. Slice of leftover pizza? BAM, it’s a clock. A Waverly Novel, Fireside Edition, was a piece of cake. By which I mean that it was really easy to make into a clock.  You could also use the kit to make a literal piece of cake into a clock. But I didn’t try that.

I decided to incorporate the glass and rim from the dismembered clock as part of the packaging, so that I could wrap the completed clock.


(pic from Walt’s blog)

I wrapped it up with a touch of Toy Story, and drove over to Redwood City to terrify and annoy Wiley.  That was fun.  After a while, though, I decided to give her the clock, too (since I was already there).

We were glad to find that this clock movement doesn’t make much sound at all.  I also promised to make a similar design in a wristwatch, so that Wiley could take it with her everywhere.  I think I’ll use Anna Karenina, or an unabridged dictionary.

Editor’s note: Walt went to a used bookstore to look for a used book to use. Even though he was just looking for a book that had an old-fashion-y look and feel, the book he walked out with was apropos: The Fair Maid of Perth by Sir Walter Scott. (Perth was the name of the street I lived on when he was making the clock!)

